Bulldogs Official Sponsor

Boys Junior Varsity Wrestling, Boys Varsity Wrestling · Wrestling Places 3rd

The Forsyth Central Wrestling team competed at the South Forsyth Santa Slam this past Saturday.  This was the first traditional tournament of the season, where wrestlers compete in an individual bracket based on their weight class and accrue individual accolades based on their placement in the tournament.  As wrestlers progress through the bracket, they also accumulate team points for their team based on their bracket progression and the margin of victory they obtain.

Out of 17 teams competing, the Bulldogs placed 3rd with 420 points, just behind South Forsyth and the returning state champions of Buford Wrestling.  Individually, our wrestlers competed incredibly tough, with 7 finalists out of the 14 possible weight classes, 3 tournament champions, and 9 top-four tournament placers.  A special congratulations to first-time tournament finalists Steven Messer (106), Abraham Perez (113), Miles Bankston (152), Keaton Platzke (182), and Hunter Stephens (195).

Sophomore Steven Messer earned his first tournament championship of his career at 106 pounds, defeating Buford’s Parker Regan by technical fall (16-1).  Sophomore Keaton Plaztke and senior Sebastian Legarra also earned their first tournament championships of their careers, with Plaztke winning by fall over South Forsyth’s Mitchell Frankel, and Legarra winning 7-2 over Aaron Nelapa from George-Walton Academy.

A special congratulations to senior Sebastian Legarra, who with his 3-2 win over Demarco Mosely from Druid Hills, earned his 100th career victory!

Individual placements are below.  The Bulldogs prepare for the Raider Duals Friday night at North Forsyth, followed by the Coal Mountain Classic traditional tournament the following Saturday.

106- Steven Messer – Tournament Champion
113- Abraham Perez – 2nd
120- RJ Colon – 7th
126- Parker Evans – 5th
132- Hunter Kurowski – 2nd
138- Sam Aldrich – 3rd
145- Spencer Cummins – 8th
152- Miles Bankston – 2nd
160- Christopher Tourtillot – 8th
170- Hansel Echevarria – 6th
182- Keaton Plaztke – Tournament Champion
195- Hunter Stephens – 2nd
220- Sebastian Legarra – Tournament Champion
285- Jake Gardner – 3rd